Download!Download Point responsive WP Theme for FREE!

Delhi Metro Route Guide

If you are new to Delhi or want to use Delhi Metro during your stay or transit from one place to another, use this comprehensive Delhi Metro route guide to get around the city.

First thing first, Delhi Metro routes have been divided into six lines viz. Yellow Line (Jahangirpuri – Gurgaon); Blue Line (Dwarka – Noida); Green Line (Inderlok – Mundka); Violet Line (Kashmere Gate – Badarpur); and Orange Line, also known as Airport Express (New Delhi – T3 Airport – Dwarka).

Delhi Metro Yellow Line: This is among the busiest metro routes and covers close to 45 km in distance from Jahangirpuri (in Delhi) to Huda City Center (in Gurgaon). This is an important metro route that serves commuters to New Delhi (railway station), Gurgaon, AIIMS (also called Medical), INA (for tourists travelling to Dilli Haat), Vishwavidyalaya (Delhi University North Campus), Chandni Chowk and Chawri Bazaar (for tourists who want to see Old Delhi – Jama Masjid, Red Fort…etc), Saket (one of Delhi’s popular shopping center) and Qutub Minar (the magnificent tower built by Qutb-ud-din Aibak).

Stations on Delhi Metro Yellow Line:  Jahangirpuri- Adarsh Nagar-Azadpur-Model Town-GTB Nagar-Vishwa Vidyalaya-Vidhan Sabha-Civil Lines-Kashmere Gate-Chandni Chowk-Chawri Bazar-New Delhi-Rajiv Chowk-Patel Chowk-Central Secretariat-Udyog Bhawan-Race Course-Jor Bagh-INA-AIIMS-Green Park-Hauz Khas-Malviya Nagar-Saket-Qutub Minar-Chhatarpur-Sultanpur-Ghitorni-Arjan Garh-Guru Dronacharya-Sikandarpur-MG Road-IFFCO Chowk-HUDA City Centre.

Delhi Metro

Delhi Metro Blue Line:  This metro line covers an approximate distance of 50 km from Dwarka Sec. 21 metro station (in Delhi) to Noida City Center (in Noida, UP). Rajiv Chowk and Yamuna Bank are two junctions on this route from where you can change trains for Yellow Line (Jahangirpur-Gurgaon), Green Line (Kirti Nagar – Ashok Park) and to Vaishali.

There are alternate trains to Noida City Centre and Vaishali and you can change trains either at Rajiv Chowk or Yamuna Bank according to your convenience.  Important stations on Delhi Metro Blue Line route are Rajouri Garden, Rajendra Place, Rajiv Chowk, Mandi House, Pragati Maidan, Yamuna Bank, Noida Sec.16 and Golf Course.

Stations on Delhi Metro Blue Line: Noida City Centre – Golf course – Botanical Garden – Noida Sector 18 – Noida Sector 16 – Noida Sector 15 – New Ashok Nagar – Mayur Vihar Ext. – Mayur Vihar –I – Akshardham, Yamuna Bank – Indraprastha – Pragati Maidan – Mandi House – Barakhamba Road – Rajiv Chowk (Junction), R.K. Ashram Marg – Jhandewalan – Karol Bagh – Rajendra Place – Patel Nagar – Shadipur – Kirti Nagar (Junction)- Moti Nagar – Ramesh Nagar – Rajouri Garden – Tagore Garden – Subhash Nagar – Tilak Nagar – Janakpuri East – Janakpuri West – Uttam Nagar East – Uttam Nagar West – Nawada – Dwarka Morh – Dwarka – Dwarka Sec-14 – Dwarka Sec-13 – Dwarka Sec-12 – Dwarka Sec-11 – Dwarka Sec-10 – Dwarka Sec-9 – Dwarka Sec 8 and Dwarka Sec 21.

Blue Line Branch: Yamuna Bank (Junction) – Laxmi Nagar  – Nirman Vihar  – Preet Vihar  – Karkar Duma  – Anand Vihar  – Kaushambi  – Vaishali

Delhi Metro Green Line:  This metro line covers areas in west Delhi. The Green Line runs between Inderlok and Mundka with a branch line connecting Kirti Nagar and Ashok Park similar to Yamuna Bank – Vaishali on Blue Line. Some of the important metro stations on Green Line are Paschim Vihar, Peera Garhi and Nangloi.

Stations on Delhi Metro Green Line: Inderlok (Junction) – Ashok Park Main (Junction) – Punjabi Bagh – Shivaji Park – Madipur- Paschim Vihar (East) – Paschim Vihar (West) – Peera Garhi – Udyog Nagar – Surajmal Stadium – Nangloi – Nangloi Rly. Station – Rajdhani Park – Mundka.

delhi metro train


Delhi Metro Violet Line: It is an important metro route that covers various places of tourist attractions in Delhi. The Violet Line covers an approximate distance of 20 km from Kashmere Gate to Badarpur.  One can visit Red Fort, Jama Masjid and Delhi Gate by getting down at Kashmere Gate metro station and Lotus Temple by alighting at Nehru Place. The Kashmere Gate Metro Station also serves a connecting point to ISBT (Inter State Bus Terminus).  Other popular metro stations on Violet Line include Khan Market, Mandi House, Lajpat Nagar and Nehru Place.

Stations on Delhi Metro Violet Line: Kashmere Gate (Junction) – Chandni Chowk – Chawri Bazar – New Delhi – Rajiv Chowk (Junction) – Patel Chowk – Central Secretariat (Junction) <Change Train Here> – Khan Market – Jawharlal Nehru Stadium – Jangpura – Lajpat Nagar – Moolchand – Kailash Colony – Nehru Place – Kalkaji Mandir – Govind Puri – Okhla – Jasola Apollo – Sarita Vihar – Mohan Estate – Tughlakabad – Badarpur

Suggested Readings:
Beginner’s Guide to Delhi Metro
Travel Smart: Use Delhi Metro Smart Card
Delhi Metro Fare List
Airport Express

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *